A competitive advertised rate matters only if its fees, payment, and eligibility rules fit your situation. Personal Loan Lenders offer different ways to borrow, so we compare bank and online options by rates, fees, terms, and funding time. An advertised rate is not a guaranteed personal offer.
APR is the yearly cost of borrowing expressed as a percentage, including interest and certain fees. The amount you need, your credit score, and the monthly payment you can manage all shape a sound choice. Debt consolidation can combine bills, but a lower payment may stretch repayment and raise total interest.
We focus on the details that change what you receive and repay, rather than treating a low advertised number as the whole decision. Compare personalized offers before committing to a new monthly obligation.
Key Takeaways
- Compare APR, fees, loan term, and eligibility together.
- Advertised APRs may differ from your personal offer.
- Check the total repayment cost, not only the monthly payment.
- Confirm how and when the lender sends funds.
- Borrow only an amount that fits your budget and purpose.
Personal Loan Lenders: Compare Rates, Fees, and Terms
The clearest starting point is to compare the amount, APR, term, and eligibility condition on the same row. Each lender sets different limits, so one comparison can quickly narrow your options.
Advertised APRs depend on borrower qualifications and selected terms. The figures below are not personal offers, and discounts may have conditions.
| Lender | Loan amount | APR | Repayment term | Key condition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wells Fargo | $3,000-$100,000 | 6.74%-26.74% | 12-84 months | Existing customers for at least 12 months; qualifying relationship discount included |
| SoFi | $5,000-$100,000 | 6.99%-35.49% | 2-7 years | Listed APR reflects 0.25% autopay and 0.25% member discounts |
| OneMain Financial | $1,500-$30,000 | 11.99%-35.99%, fixed | 24-60 months | Fixed-rate personal loans |
| U.S. Bank | Clients: $1,000-$50,000; nonclients: up to $25,000 | 8.24%-24.99% | Clients: 12-84 months; nonclients: up to 60 months | Borrowing limit and term depend on client status |
| Discover | $2,500-$40,000 | 6.99%-24.99% | 36-84 months | Comparison listing terms |
Wells Fargo’s rates were listed as of July 10, 2026. Its listed range includes a 0.25% relationship discount for eligible customers with a qualifying Wells Fargo consumer checking account and automatic payments from a Wells Fargo deposit account.
Its lowest advertised APR assumes excellent credit history, at least $10,000 borrowed, and a three-year term. That lowest rate is tied to specific borrower and loan details. Wells Fargo personal loans are limited to customers with at least 12 months of bank history.
SoFi’s range was listed as of October 28, 2026, and reflects its 0.25% autopay and 0.25% member discounts. U.S. Bank’s range was listed as of October 26, 2026. These dates help place each rate in context.
Treat an advertised low APR as a starting point, not a promise of your personal rate.
The table makes differences in loan amounts and terms easier to spot. A longer term can spread payments across more months, while a shorter term may demand a larger monthly payment.
When comparing personal loans, look at the exact amount you need and the term you can afford. The lowest listed rate may not apply to your credit profile or chosen amount.
How Do Credit Score and Rate Shape Your Offer?
A 700 FICO Score falls in the good range, while lenders still weigh the rest of the applicant’s finances. Your score matters, but it does not set an offer on its own.
A market rate range is not an individual offer. Personal-loan rates ranged from 6.70%-35.99% as of October 26, 2026, and the average rate was 12.41% on October 28, 2026.
What the FICO score bands mean
Base FICO Scores range from 300 to 850. A score from 670-739 is good, 740 and above is very good, and 800 or higher is excellent.
The average FICO Score in the United States was 713 in 2025. That national figure gives context, but it does not predict whether a lender will approve a personal loan or what rate it will offer.
A score of 700 is not poor in the U.S. FICO system. A CIBIL score uses a different scale, so it cannot be read as though it were a FICO Score.
Credit history can affect credit access and may impact credit score when a lender makes a hard pull. A rate check can use a soft pull instead, depending on the lender and step.
How lenders weigh risk beyond the score
Lenders may also review income, employment, payment history, and the debt-to-income ratio. The debt-to-income ratio means monthly debt payments divided by gross monthly income.
These factors help a lender judge whether the borrower can manage another payment. A steady income and a record of on-time payments may support an application, while existing debt can affect approval or pricing.
The loan amount and term also shape risk. A larger loan or longer repayment period may change the lender’s decision, even when two applicants share the same credit score.
Borrowers with bad credit may face rates up to 36% APR. That can make the cost of a personal loan much higher than a market average, especially over a longer term.
The impact credit score has on the offer is only one part of the decision. A rate range describes rates across a market, while an individual offer reflects a specific application.
We should compare the actual APR and total repayment cost instead of assuming the national average will be our offer. The monthly payment alone may hide how much interest accrues over time.
Which Lenders Consider Applicants With Lower Credit Scores?
Applicants with lower scores can still find offers, but the APR and upfront fee may be substantially higher. Some lenders set no stated minimum, yet each still reviews repayment ability.
No stated credit-score minimum does not mean no review. Personal loan lenders with no credit check are not the norm for unsecured borrowing.
Applicants without a stated minimum score
Upstart offers $1,000-$75,000 at 6.30%-35.99% APR for 36 or 60 months, with no formal minimum credit score. It may weigh income, employment history, and sometimes education.
OneMain Financial also has no stated minimum score. Both lenders still assess whether an applicant can repay, so a low or limited score does not guarantee approval.
Navy Federal’s savings-secured application is a distinct no-credit-check exception. It requires savings as collateral, which puts the pledged funds at risk if payments stop.
Lenders with published minimum scores
Avant offers $2,000-$35,000 at 9.95%-35.99% APR for 24-60 months and requires a minimum score of 580. Upgrade offers $1,000-$50,000 at 7.74%-35.99% APR for 24-84 months and requires at least 600.
Upgrade charges an origination fee of 1.85%-9.99%. That fee can reduce the cash deposited, so the loan amount and the net amount received may differ.
LendingTree users with scores under 580 who prequalified received an average of four offers at an average offered APR of 30.51%, based on data reported in October 2026. Those averages illustrate costly offers, not a promise of approval or a rate.
People seeking personal loan lenders for bad credit should compare the complete offer, not just a score rule or starting rate. A higher APR can make even a smaller loan expensive.
- Review the lender’s minimum score.
- Compare the APR and origination fee.
- Check the net funds after any fee.
We can use prequalified offers to compare options, but the number of offers does not prove any one is affordable. Calculate what each choice would cost across its full term.
When Does a Secured Personal Loan Make Sense?
A secured loan may offer a route to borrowing when savings or an eligible vehicle can stand behind the debt. Collateral can change access, but it also gives the lender a claim on an asset.
A secured personal loan is a loan backed by collateral. The lender may take the named asset after default, so the loan can put savings or property at risk.
Savings and certificate-backed borrowing
Savings-secured and certificate-secured loans use an account balance or certificate to support the loan. Their rates follow the account’s rate plus a set margin, rather than a typical unsecured pricing model.
| Lender and collateral | APR formula | Credit check | Term or amount limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| First Tech savings-secured | Savings rate plus as low as 3.00% | Not specified | Up to 96 months |
| First Tech certificate-secured | Certificate rate plus as low as 3.00% | Not specified | Term cannot exceed certificate maturity |
| Navy Federal savings-secured | Savings share rate plus 2.00% | No credit check for application | Loan backed by savings |
| Navy Federal certificate-secured | Certificate rate plus 2.00% | Not specified | Loan amount cannot exceed certificate; term cannot exceed certificate term |
First Tech charges no origination fee on these products. Navy Federal does not require a credit check for its savings-secured application, a distinct feature for borrowers concerned about a credit inquiry.
Federal credit unions cap most personal-loan rates at 18%. Their payday alternative loans have a separate maximum rate of 28%, so the two caps apply to different loan types.
Vehicle-backed borrowing and collateral risk
A secured personal loan may use a vehicle, savings account, investments, or home fixtures as collateral. Collateral choices and risk matter because the lender may claim that asset after default.
Upgrade auto-secured loans have 24-84-month terms and origination fees of 1.85%-9.99%. Eligible cars must be personally used, owned by the borrower, insured, registered in the borrower’s name, and less than 20 years old.
Upstart may let an applicant use a paid-off car to improve approval odds. That option does not remove the risk of losing the vehicle if payments stop.
We should compare the benefit of collateral with what losing the asset would mean in daily life. A car used for work or a home fixture may be hard to replace.
Do not pledge an asset unless you can accept the possibility of losing it if payments stop.
What Do You Need Before Applying?
A rate check can help you compare options before you authorize a full credit inquiry. The type of inquiry matters, since a soft pull generally does not affect your score.
A full application may trigger a hard pull that can affect your credit score. A soft pull is used for a rate check, while a hard pull may follow a full application.
Check rates before submitting a full application
U.S. Bank’s rate check takes as little as five minutes and uses a soft credit check. Its full application requests a credit report that may affect the score.
U.S. Bank usually provides an approval status in less than a minute after submission. Wells Fargo requires applicants to have been customers for at least 12 months before applying.
Checking rates can help us compare possible terms without taking every application step at once. The full application may ask for more detail and a separate credit review.
Gather the information and documents
Lenders may ask for proof of identity, residence, income, and employment. They may also request basic information about expenses, debts, the requested amount, and the loan purpose.
OneMain may ask for proof of identity, residence, and income. It considers financial and credit history, income and expenses, loan purpose, bankruptcy history, and state of residence.
People comparing personal loan lenders near me can apply to OneMain online, by phone, or at a branch. Local availability and eligibility depend on the lender and state.
OneMain’s closing-document signing takes about 30-45 minutes. Requests differ by lender, so having clear records can make it easier to answer application questions.
- Check minimum requirements.
- Gather identity and income documents.
- Verify the requested loan amount and purpose.
We should review every application field for errors before submitting it, since inaccurate information can slow verification. A careful final check can prevent avoidable delays.
How Quickly Can Personal Loan Funds Arrive?
Same-day funding is possible with some lenders, but the clock may start at approval, signing, or closing depending on the offer. Those are separate steps, and a fast approval does not mean money is already in the account.
Funding time depends on the lender’s cutoff, delivery method, and bank processing. Wells Fargo says most customers receive funds the day they are approved.
Between April and June 2026, 97% of Wells Fargo customers received funds on the day they signed. That result describes a stated past period, not a guarantee for each borrower.
OneMain may deliver funds as soon as one hour after signing to a bank-issued debit card. ACH transfers typically take one to two banking days after closing, while a check may be issued on closing day.
SoFi says funds may be available the same day the loan is approved. Same-day funding depends on approval and signing by 5:30 p.m. ET on a business day, and it is not guaranteed.
Eligible U.S. Bank customers may receive same-day funds after signing by 9 p.m. ET on a business day. Same-day delivery is not guaranteed, even when a customer meets that cutoff.
Discover may send funds as soon as the next business day after acceptance. The application must have no errors, funding must happen on a weekday night, and disbursement must be electronic.
Approval, signing, and closing mark different points in the process. The receiving account may take extra time to show a deposit after the lender sends it.
Bank processing and weekends can affect when funds become available. A lender’s stated delivery time may refer to sending the money, not when the account displays it.
We should confirm the delivery method and business-day cutoff before relying on funds for a deadline. Leave room for a transfer to take longer than expected.
What Will Your Monthly Payment and Fees Cost?
A monthly payment is driven by the amount borrowed, APR, and repayment term, while fees can reduce the cash received. The full cost matters, not only the payment that fits this month.
A longer term can lower the monthly payment while increasing total interest. The right balance depends on how much room the budget has and how long repayment can last.
Estimate the monthly payment
Wells Fargo’s example for $17,000 borrowed over 48 months at 13.99% APR gives a $464 monthly payment. U.S. Bank’s example for $10,000 at 12.60% APR over 36 months gives a $335.02 monthly payment.
These examples show how loan amount, APR, and term work together. We should use a calculator with our own figures rather than treat either example as a quote.
A $20,000 loan has no single monthly cost without a set APR and term. Enter those exact inputs in a calculator to estimate the payment and total interest.
Most lenders offer repayment terms of two to seven years. Some offer one-year terms, while others extend repayment to ten years.
Look beyond the advertised rate
Wells Fargo has no origination or closing fees and no prepayment penalty. SoFi says it has no required origination fees, prepayment penalty fees, or late fees.
OneMain’s origination fee may be $25-$500 or 1%-10% of the amount, depending on state and loan terms. U.S. Bank has no origination fee or prepayment penalty, while Discover advertises no fees of any kind.
Bad-credit personal-loan lenders may charge origination fees up to 12% of the amount. An upfront fee may be deducted from the loan, reducing the funds deposited.
APR measures borrowing cost through a yearly percentage that includes interest and certain fees. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau explains APR disclosure and calculation under Regulation Z’s APR rules.
When an upfront fee comes out of the loan proceeds, the borrower receives less than the stated loan amount but still repays the full balance. That difference changes the value of an offer.
We should compare total dollars repaid and net proceeds, not just the payment that looks easiest to fit into a budget.
Should You Use a Personal Loan to Consolidate Debt or Cover an Expense?
Consolidation is most useful when the new terms improve the borrower’s overall debt position, not only the monthly payment. One payment can simplify bills, but a lower amount due each month does not prove savings.
Compare the new APR, fees, term, and total repayment with the existing debts. A new loan can cost more if it extends repayment or adds fees.
When debt consolidation may fit
Wells Fargo and SoFi list debt consolidation as a use for their personal loans. Combining balances can replace several bills with one payment and one due date.
Wells Fargo cautions that a lower monthly payment may result from a longer term, which can increase total interest. The payment may feel easier while the full debt costs more.
We should compare the new loan’s full repayment with the remaining cost of each balance. The interest rate, fees, and payoff dates all affect whether consolidation helps.
When a one-time expense may fit
A personal loan may cover a planned home repair, medical bill, or moving cost. SoFi also allows loans for weddings and other lawful personal, family, or household purposes.
Planned expenses can be easier to weigh against a budget than discretionary purchases. Borrowing for an event or item may leave payments long after the benefit has passed.
Before taking a loan, we can test the decision with three checks:
- Compare total repayment with the debt or expense cost.
- Check whether the new term extends payoff.
- Avoid borrowing more than the expense requires.
A lower monthly payment alone does not show that a debt consolidation loan will save money.
Our financial information disclaimer explains that general content cannot replace advice suited to an individual situation. Personal finances and state rules can affect how an offer works.
Before accepting, we should confirm that the new payment fits the budget without relying on future borrowing. A plan that depends on taking another loan can deepen the problem.
Conclusion
A suitable offer is the one whose full cost and payment fit your finances, not simply the one with the lowest advertised APR. We should weigh eligibility conditions, fees, and the repayment term alongside the amount borrowed.
Before signing, compare personalized offers and confirm both the net funds and total repayment. A loan calculator can show how your intended amount and term change the payment.
Use a loan calculator with your intended amount and term, then compare personalized offers before signing.